Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Office of the President Presidential Committees

Commission on the Status of Women


  • To advise the president and executive vice president, to gather data, and to make policy recommendations on all issues relevant to women, including but not limited to:
    • Matters pertaining to all women at the University, including but not limited to, advancement and leadership, safety, childcare, and anti-discrimination/harassment practices.
    • Matters pertaining to women employees such as job opportunities, hiring practices, career advancement, salary equity, appointments to key committees in leadership roles, family medical leave, and other benefits.
    • Matters pertaining to women graduate, professional, and undergraduate students such as admission practices, awarding of financial aid, graduation rates, fellowships and assistantships, advising practices, and housing.
  • To establish close working relationships with other groups on campus and in the community working in areas related to the status of women to include, but not limited to the Office for Equal Opportunity, Associated Students of WSU, Association for Faculty Women, the Faculty Senate, Coalition for Women Students, Commission on Gender Identity and Sexual Orientation, Graduate and Professional Student Association, Graduate School, Human Resource Services, the Office of Equity and Diversity, Gender Identity/Expression and Sexual Orientation Resource Center, Governor’s Interagency Committee of State Employed Women, Office of Student Affairs and Enrollment, Women’s Resource Center, and Commission on Campus Climate
  • To prepare and disseminate an annual report every summer, to be disseminated no later than June 30, advising the president and executive vice president of the current year’s accomplishments, recommendations, and data collected. This annual report is compiled by each Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) subcommittee and provided to the chair by June 15 of each year. After presentation to the president and executive vice president CSW publishes the report online to advise the WSU community.
  • To recommend to the president and executive vice president courses of appropriate action to enhance the status of women and to address inequities in outcomes and/or opportunities for women

Composition and tenure

The president appoints the WSU Commission on the Status of Women voting body. The commission recommends nominees for membership to the president in April of each year. The membership consists of a total of 25 voting members, with a minimum of 16 from the Pullman campus, 1 from the Tri-Cities campus, 1 from the Vancouver campus, 1 from the Spokane campus, and the remaining 6 from any of the previously mentioned constituencies, and/or learning centers, extension offices, or any other WSU statewide locations–and non-voting, ex officio members representing other WSU constituencies

Voting members

Pullman campus

  • 16 members from faculty, administrative/professional, and classified staff, with no fewer than 2 from each of the 3 categories, with 2-year terms (F-A/P-S)
  • 4 students from the following: 2 undergraduates and 2 graduate professional (G-U)

Regional campus

  • 1 member from each campus. Each campus may assemble a committee comprised of faculty, staff, graduate and undergraduate students, and administrative/professional members to address women’s issues on their campus.
  • Such a committee will elect from its membership 1 representative (from any category) to serve as the voting CSW member. (F-A/P-G-U)

Variable positions (any campus)

  • 6 variable positions to be elected from available applicants in any mentioned constituencies, and/or learning centers, extension offices, or any other WSU statewide location

The chair is elected annually by the membership of the commission.



Cooper, Catherine
School of the Environment
Committee term end: 2019

Lightner, Lindsey
Committee term end: 2019

Akins, Ralitsa
E S Floyd College of Medicine
Committee term end: 2019

Armstrong, Madison
Honors College
Committee term end: 2018

Bell, April
EEO Liaison
Committee term end: 2018

Campbell, Holly
Student Conduct
Public relations
Committee term end: 2018

Carlson Nicol, Erica
Committee term end: 2018

Chakraverty, Devasmita
Teaching & Learning
Committee term end: 2019

Clark, Heidi
Committee term end: 2018

Cross, Katherine
Information Services
Committee term end: 2019

Davis, Jenny
School of Biological Sciences
Committee term end: 2019

Hamanda, Suzane
Composite Materials & Engineering Center
Committee term end: 2019

Mays, Robin
Tri-Cities English
Committee term end: 2018

Morton, Sarah
Sociology Grad Student
Committee term end: 2018

Nusbaum, Amy
Committee term end: 2018

Pattinson, Marcella
Multicultural Student Services
Committee term end: 2019

Rupp, Hailey
University Advancement
Committee term end: 2018

Southwick, Jaqueline
Student Financial Services
Committee term end: 2019

St. Clair, Casey
Finance & Administration
Committee term end: 2019

VanDeen, Anika
School of Mechanical & Materials Engineering
Committee term end: 2019

Wells, Lauren
School of Mechanical & Materials Engineering
Committee term end: 2018

Washington State University