It is with much sadness and regret that we write to let you know we have decided to cancel the in‑person commencement ceremonies scheduled at all of our campuses later this summer.

This is not a choice that any of us wanted to make. It was a decision not easily made nor quickly reached. But in consideration of the state’s COVID‑19 guidelines for resuming group activities and our own abundance of caution in protecting the health and safety of the entire Cougar community, we feel it is the right decision.

Please join us in once again congratulating our 2020 spring semester graduates. They displayed an amazing fortitude and ability to adapt to challenging conditions. Thanks to that mindset—and all of your tireless efforts to boost them toward the finish line during this historic pandemic—we have much to celebrate in the accomplishments of the past few months.

The tenacity of the Cougar community continues to inspire all of us as we adapt to the new normal and plan for the future. That tenacity, and the tremendous outcomes resulting from those efforts, give us much hope despite our current challenges.

If you are in touch with any of our newest graduates, please continue to wish them well and encourage them as they take the next steps in their lives. And let them know that they’re always welcome back home.

Go Cougs!

Kirk Schulz

Bryan Slinker
Interim Provost and Executive Vice President

Elizabeth Chilton
Incoming Provost and Executive Vice President

Lisa Calvert
Vice President for University Advancement and CEO of the WSU Foundation

Asif Chaudhry
Vice President for International Programs

Pat Chun
Director of Athletics

Dave Cillay
Vice President for Academic Outreach and Innovation and Chancellor, Global Campus

Daryll DeWald
Vice President of Health Sciences and Chancellor, WSU Health Sciences Spokane

Theresa Elliot‑Cheslek
Vice President and Chief Human Resource Officer

Mary Jo Gonzales
Vice President of Student Affairs

Sandra Haynes
Chancellor, WSU Tri‑Cities

Christine Hoyt
Chief of Staff, Office of the President

Chris Keane
Vice President for Research

Colleen Kerr
Vice President for External Affairs and Government Relations

Mel Netzhammer
Chancellor, WSU Vancouver

Stacy Pearson
Vice President for Finance and Administration and Chief Financial Officer

Sasi Pillay
Vice President for Information Technology Services and Chief Information Officer

Paul Pitre
Chancellor, WSU Everett

Phil Weiler
Vice President for Marketing and Communications

Dori Borjesson
Incoming Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine

Lisa Gloss
Dean, Graduate School

Mel Haberman
Interim Dean, College of Nursing

Larry (Chip) Hunter
Dean, Carson College of Business

Matthew Jockers
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Mary Koithan
Incoming Dean, College of Nursing

Mark Leid
Incoming Dean, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Linda Garrelts MacLean
Interim Dean, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Robert H. Mealey
Interim Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine

Grant Norton
Dean, Honors College

Bruce Pinkleton
Dean, Edward R. Murrow College of Communication

Mary Rezac
Dean, Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture

Jay Starratt
Dean, Libraries

John Tomkowiak
Founding Dean, Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine

Mike Trevisan
Dean, College of Education

André-Denis Girard Wright
Dean, College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences