Supreme Court ruling affirms DACA policy

Dear Faculty, Staff, and Students:

Yesterday’s ruling by the U.S. Supreme Court is a tremendous victory for many students at WSU, as well as students and their families throughout the State of Washington and the nation.

The Supreme Court’s decision blocked the dismantling of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) policy, which would have affected an estimated 700,000 young adults across the country. Considering the events of the past few months, we welcome the Court’s decision in support of DACA students, especially for those undocumented students in our Cougar community.

Additionally, we reaffirm our commitment to creating an environment that fully encourages and embraces the educational and life aspirations of all our students. It is only then that we will rightly align with the access and opportunity goals embodied in our land‑grant mission.

As we celebrate this decision, particularly on this date, Juneteenth, let us also reflect on the work ahead. We have much to do in order to create a more just, equitable, and compassionate community. Let us endeavor to fully invest ourselves in furthering these goals.


Kirk Schulz

Bryan Slinker
Interim Provost and Executive Vice President

Elizabeth Chilton
Incoming Provost and Executive Vice President

Lisa Calvert
Vice President for University Advancement and CEO of the WSU Foundation

Asif Chaudhry
Vice President for International Programs

Pat Chun
Director of Athletics

Dave Cillay
Vice President for Academic Outreach and Innovation and Chancellor, Global Campus

Daryll DeWald
Vice President of Health Sciences and Chancellor, WSU Health Sciences Spokane

Theresa Elliot‑Cheslek
Vice President and Chief Human Resource Officer

Mary Jo Gonzales
Vice President of Student Affairs

Sandra Haynes
Chancellor, WSU Tri‑Cities

Christine Hoyt
Chief of Staff, Office of the President

Chris Keane
Vice President for Research

Colleen Kerr
Vice President for External Affairs and Government Relations

Mel Netzhammer
Chancellor, WSU Vancouver

Stacy Pearson
Vice President for Finance and Administration and Chief Financial Officer

Sasi Pillay
Vice President for Information Technology Services and Chief Information Officer

Paul Pitre
Chancellor, WSU Everett

Phil Weiler
Vice President for Marketing and Communications

Dori Borjesson
Incoming Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine

Lisa Gloss
Dean, Graduate School

Mel Haberman
Interim Dean, College of Nursing

Larry (Chip) Hunter
Dean, Carson College of Business

Matthew Jockers
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Mary Koithan
Incoming Dean, College of Nursing

Mark Leid
Incoming Dean, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Linda Garrelts MacLean
Interim Dean, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Robert H. Mealey
Interim Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine

M. Grant Norton
Dean, Honors College

Bruce Pinkleton
Dean, Edward R. Murrow College of Communication

Mary Rezac
Dean, Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture

Jay Starratt
Dean, Libraries

John Tomkowiak
Founding Dean, Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine

Mike Trevisan
Dean, College of Education

André-Denis Girard Wright
Dean, College of Agricultural, Human, and Natural Resource Sciences

Jaime Nolan
Associate Vice President for Community, Equity, and Inclusive Excellence

Greg Crouch
Chair, Faculty Senate

Stephanie Rink
Chair, Administrative Professional Advisory Council