Employee Excellence Award Committee


  • Plans and implements an annual program to recognize 3 (up to 5) members of classified staff and/or administrative and professional personnel (AP) employees for excellence in their service or achievement for the University
  • Solicits written nominations from WSU employees and students. Accepts and screens the names of those nominated to receive the awards and recommends prospective candidates to the president.

Composition and tenure

  • Classified staff, administrative professional personnel, and faculty employees representing a variety of areas and classes, with 3-year terms. (F-AP-C)
  • President of the Associated Students of Washington State University, president of the Graduate and Professional Student Association.

The chair is appointed by the president.

Responsible to the president.

Nominations for 2023-2024 have concluded. Check back again for details on the next nomination process.

Committee membership

Elliot-Cheslek, Theresa

VP and Chief Human Resources Officer
Committee term end: Indefinite

Barman, Ajay

Committee term end: 2024

Bennett, Sherri

Campus Chief of Staff
WSU, Vancouver
Committee term end: 2027

Deschenes, Luke

Committee term end: 2024

Ellis, Alanna

College of Education
Committee term end: 2024

Harper, Zachary

Campus Recruitment & Retention Specialist
WSU, Tri-Cities
Committee term end: 2027

Penton, Deana

Murrow College of Communication
Committee term end: 2024

Wolfson, Lisa

Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for Finance & Operations
WSU, Vancouver
Committee term end: 2027