Radiation Safety Committee


  • Reviews, evaluates, and approves safety standards, facility standards, training requirements, and license requirements associated with the use, storage, and disposal of radioactive materials and radiation-producing machines, except for facilities and activities governed by federal license, in accordance with the requirements of WAC 246-235-090
  • Reviews and approves all radioisotope procurement and utilization on campus
  • Submits a written report to the vice president for research on audit activities performed, including results of audits and unusual or abnormal findings

Composition and tenure

  • The Radiation Safety Committee shall be composed of at least 6 University faculty or staff knowledgeable in the fields which relate to radiation safety and serve 3-year terms
  • Director of research assurances and the radiation safety officer shall be permanent members
  • The chair of the committee shall hold a full-time permanent faculty appointment, and shall be appointed by the vice president for research of the University.
  • The secretary of the committee shall be the radiation safety officer.

Responsible to the president through the vice president for research.

Committee membership

Wilkinson, Tom

Veterinary Clinical Sciences
Committee term end: 2025
Chair term end: 2023

McGhee, Rey

Office of Research Assurances
Secretary/Radiation safety officer
Permanent Member

Kluzik, Mike

Office of Research Assurances
Permanent Member

Boncella, James

Committee Term Ends:2025

Chauvin, Ted

ESF College of Medicine, Spokane
Committee Term Ends:2023

Guo, Xiaofeng

Committee term end: 2024

Hines, Corey

Nuclear Science Center
Committee term end: 2024

O’Loughlin, Levi

Office of Research Assurances
Permanent Member

Omsland, Anders

Paul G. Allen School for Global Animal Health
Committee term end:  2024

Schmuck, Burton (Billy)

VCEA Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering
Committee term end:  2024

Tabatadze, George

College of Pharmacy
Committee term end:  2025